Lutosławski Quartet

Founded in 2007, the Lutosławski Quartet was named after one of Poland’s most eminent 20th-century composers. It is one of the ensembles-in-residence at Wrocław’s National Forum of Music. Its members are: Roksana Kwaśnikowska (1st violin; previously – Bartosz Woroch), Marcin Markowicz (2nd violin), Artur Rozmysłowicz (viola), and Maciej Młodawski (cello). Their repertoire comprises primarily 20th- and 21st-century Polish works, particularly those of Witold Lutosławski, Karol Szymanowski, and Paweł Mykietyn.

Lutosławski Quartet gives concerts at major Polish and foreign festivals such as the Warsaw Autumn, Wratislavia Cantans, Klarafestival in Brussels, the International Ankara Music Festival (Turkey), Hong Kong Arts Festival, Tongyegong (South Korea), World Music Days, and Jazztopad (Wrocław, Poland). The quartet has performed with such eminent artists as Kevin Kenner, Garrick Ohlsson, Bruno Canino, and Eugen Indjic, as well as outstanding jazz musicians: Uri Caine, Kenny Wheeler, John Taylor, and others. Lutosławski Quartet’s extensive discography includes albums released by CD Accord, NFM, Naxos, and DUX; among others, string quartets by Szymanowski, Shostakovich and Markowicz (CD Accord, 2012), by Lutosławski and Mykietyn (Naxos, 2014), as well as the complete string quartets of Grażyna Bacewicz (Naxos, 2015). The ensemble received four nominations for the Fryderyk Award of the Polish Phonographic Academy (2009, 2015, 2016, 2021).

Phot. Łukasz Rajchert
Przewiń do góry