Adam Bałdych Quintet

Adam Bałdych’s band consists, apart from its leader, of Marek Konarski (tenor saxophone), Łukasz Ojdana (piano), Michał Barański (bass), and Dawid Fortuna (drums).
The Quintet develops Bałdych’s concept of music balancing between genres and focusing in particular on the borderline area between jazz and classical music. This borderland is for the violinist a space of experimentation and of constructing his own, highly personal instrumental language. Explorations in this field have borne fruit in the form of critically acclaimed albums: Sacrum Profanum (with music by Hildegard of Bingen, Thomas Tallis, and Sofia Gubaidulina) and the most recent Poetry, aesthetically situating itself between jazz and the strong drive of the modern classic genre.

Adam Bałdych’s quintet is frequently extended so as to include excellent soloists. On Poetry (2021) they are joined by the Italian trumpeter Paolo Fresu. On the album featuring Bałdych’s original interpretations of Henryk Wieniawski’s music, the band is accompanied by classical violinist Agata Szymczewska, a leading figure in the Polish violin scene.

Adam Bałdych’s Quartet and Quintet have won, among others, the audience award and 2nd place in the BMW Welt Jazz Award (Munich 2021) as well as four Fryderyk nominations for both Sacrum Profanum and Poetry (as Artist of the Year and Jazz Album of the Year). The latter release has also been listed among the UK ‘Jazzwise’ and US ‘DownBeat’ magazines’ most important albums of the year, and among the top twenty albums on Bandcamp’s website.

Phot. Katarzyna Stańczyk

Przewiń do góry